LAUC-I Annual Report 2005-2006

respectfully submitted July 19, 2006 by the Nominating-Elections Committee

Chair: Manuel Urrizola

Members: Pauline Manaka, Linda Murphy

Jan. 11, 2006: Committee sent to each LAUC-I member via email a call for nominations for LAUC-I office or standing committee membership.

Jan. 12-Mar. 9, 2006: Committee members personally solicited nominations.

Mar. 10, 2006: Committee met to update slate of candidates.

April 17, 2006: Chair of Committee presented slate at LAUC-I Executive Board joint meeting with Library Executive Council.

April 24, 2006: Committee presented slate at LAUC-I Membership meeting and solicited final nominations.

May 15, 2006: Each candidate for the Office of Chair, Vice Chair (Chair Elect), Secretary, member-at-large, and the Library Review Committee had submitted a biographical sketch and brief statement of goals to the Chair of the Nominating-Elections Committee.

May 16-17, 2006: Committee met to prepare election packets (ballots, biographies, instructions, envelopes) for mailing.

May 22, 2006: Committee sent an election packet to each eligible voter.

June 7, 2006: Election Day (ballots needed to be returned by this date).

June 8, 2006: Committee met and counted votes. We had sent out 39 packets. We received 33 back. One was not counted because there was no name on the envelope. (Thus we could not insure that it was a valid ballot from someone who had not already voted.) Nobody lost by one vote. So the invalidated ballot would not have made a difference.

June 8, 2006: Chair notifies LAUC-I Chair and Secretary of the results of the election:

LAUC Systemwide Offices:

Vice President/President-Elect

Bob Heyer-Gray 28

Secretary

John Sisson 29

LAUC-I:

Chair

Yvonne Wilson 30 elected

Vice Chair/Chair-Elect

Linda Murphy 18 *elected*

Abraham Yu 13

Secretary

Vicki Grahame 32 *elected*

Member-at-Large

Katherine Harvey 32 *elected* Philip MacLeod 30 *elected*

Academic Librarianship Committee

Todd Butler 30 elected
Pauline Manaka 29 elected
Shelia Smyth 31 elected
Manuel Urrizola 30 elected

Library Review Committee

Jackie Dooley 20 elected

Dan Tsang 12

<u>Professional Development Committee</u>

Mitchell Brown 25 elected Judy Bube 21 elected

Steve Clancy 18

Anne Frank 26 *elected*

Program Committee (Since Linda Murphy was elected Vice Chair, all three candidates for Program

Committee are elected.)

Ryan Hildebrand 30 elected John Novak 17 elected Colby Riggs 19 elected

By June 14, 2006: LAUC-I Chair submitted results of election via email to LAUC Secretary.

By June 16, 2006: LAUC-I Chair notified the membership of the results of the election.